Cessation of the Nuclear Arms Race and Nuclear Disarmament (Marshall Islands v. United Kingdom)

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations and it is the core judicial organ. It has two main functions: to solve the conflicts presented by the States according to international law and to give advice on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies. The Court consists of 15 judges, who are elected by the General Assembly and Security Council for a nine-year term of office and it reports to the General Assembly. The Court is seated at the Peace Palace in The Hague, the Netherlands.